Current Members

Jessica Periago (entered the graduate program in summer 2013) earned her BSc in Biochemistry from UNL and was a member of the Husker Women’s Basketball Team; became the Chemistry Lab Manager in Fall 2016

Former Members

Miriam McDonough is doing research as part of the 2019 Summer Chemistry Research Experiences for Undergraduates. She is a double major in chemistry and neuroscience at Simpson College in Indianola, Iowa.

Bev DeVore-Wedding is a postdoctoral researcher working on the tribal college chemistry project; she earned her UNL Ph.D. in 2018 in the UNL Teacher Learning and Teacher Education Program

Huyen Nguyen is a UNL biochemistry major

Nick Hofmaier is a UNL biochemistry major

Grace Merritt is a UNL biochemistry major

Eric Schultz (BS 2018 Anthropology)

Christopher Frey (PhD 2012) is a research scientist at Merck Animal Health in Elkhorn, Nebraska

Kristin Wipfler (BSc Biochemistry 2012) earned a Ph.D. 2017 at UNMC Genetics Graduate Program and is now a biostatistician at Forward Inc. in Omaha

Tyler Scherr (BSc Bioscience Engineering 2011; won Undergraduate Best of Show in the 2010 Chemistry Research Fair) earned his Ph.D. in 2017 in the UNMC Pathology and Microbiology Graduate Program

Luong Doan (BSc Biochemistry 2009; won Undergraduate Runner-Up in the 2009 Chemistry Research Fair) earned his MD from the UNMC Medical Program and is now doing his residency at the Children’s Hospital in Akron, Ohio

Alexandra (Moustakes) Kilgore (BSc Biochemistry 2008) earned an M.D. in Pediatrics at UNMC in 2013 and is now practicing at Children’s Hospital in Aurora, Colorado

Jaclyn (Cecetka) Wray (BSc Biochemistry 2006) earned an O.D. in Optometry in 2010 at University of California Berkeley and is now a practicing optometrist in Fort Collins, Colorado

Saumitri Bhattacharyya (PhD 2000) was a senior researcher with Dr. Joanna Groden at Ohio State University and is now living in the Philadelphia area

Dan Jones (MS 2000) is a process development biochemist at Amgen Boulder Inc., Boulder, Colorado

Ben Armitage (NSF REU 1999 summer project) is now an associate attorney for intellectual property with Schwegman Lundberg Woessner in Minneapolis

Holly Cargill (BS 1999 Honors Thesis) earned her Biochemistry MS in 2006 at Texas A&M University Medical School in College Station, Texas, and is now a Senior Regulatory Manager at Pfizer in St. Louis

Dipanjan Nag (PhD 1998) is Associate Vice President of Technology Commercialization at The Ohio State University in Columbus

Indrajit Giri (PhD 1998) is a scientist at Imclone Systems in the Greater New York area

Jennifer Miller (MS 1997) is Victim Advocate in the Violent Crimes Division of the Kansas City Police Department

Scott Johnson (MS 1997) is a Pilot Plant Coordinator in the UNL Biological Process Development Facility

Teresa Urlacher (PhD 1996) is Biology Reagent Product Development Manager at LI-COR, Inc. in Lincoln, Nebraska

Craig Monden (MS 1996) is teaching high school science in Arcadia, California

Bradley Gieske (BS 1997) earned his MD at the University of South Dakota Medical School and is now an Anesthesiologist in Colorado Springs

Amy Marrs (MS 1995) is director of the Mycobacteriology Laboratory at National Jewish Health in Denver

John Swart (PhD 1994) is President of Exemplar Genetics in Sioux Center, Iowa

Alan Linderman (BS 1991 Honors Thesis) earned his MD at the University of Nebraska Medical Center and is now an internist at Nebraska Internal Medicine in Lincoln